EAU-SUO Exchange Programme

The European Association of Urology (EAU) and the Society of Urologic Oncology (SUO) are pleased to announce a new scholar exchange. Each medical association may send one of its members for a two-week scholarship at a department of choice after the respective association’s Annual Meeting.

The Scholarship

In 2018, one EAU member will be invited to attend the 19th Annual Meeting of the SUO, held in Phoenix AZ on 28-30 November 2018. The applicant will then attend the congress and will spend two weeks after the meeting at the selected host institution. To encourage scientific exchange the applicant preferably has submitted an abstract to the congress. The applicant will file a 2-page report to the EAU within one month of returning. All meeting registration fees will be waived and travel and accommodation will be covered by the EAU and SUO.

Only EAU members can apply for this programme. If you are not a member, you can become one here and benefit from many advantages such as this scholarship. The applicant must be a young urologic oncologist with eight years of completing fellowship training.

The applicant will work with their senior faculty to identify a host institution and mentor at that institution that will expose and educate the applicant on a new technique or technology in basic, health services or translation research, or a clinical technique or method. The selected hosting institution’s department chair should provide a letter of agreement and commitment to the visit. It is assumed that the exchange programme selectee will have appropriate approvals from their home institutions if required.

To apply, please fill out the application form and send it to Angela Terberg, together with the following documents:

  • Your Curriculum Vitae
  • A letter of Recommendation of your head of department
  • Your list of publications
  • A 2 page written proposal describing the unmet need, opportunity & plans to implement the knowledge upon returning

The proposals will be reviewed by a joint committee of the EAU.

We look forward receiving your application before 1 July 2018.