Pavone-Macaluso wins EAU Willy Gregoir Award

Fri, 11 Apr 2014

Prof. Michele Pavone Macaluso (Palermo, IT) has won the Willy Gregoir Medal 2014, the European Association of Urology’s (EAU) highest honour, leading several awardees during the EAU’s 29th Annual Congress which opened today in Stockholm, Sweden.

Pavone Macaluso is head of the Dept. of Urology at the University of Palermo in Sicily, Italy and was cited for his pioneering contributions to the growth of urology in Europe.

“We are honoured by Prof. Pavone Macaluso’s remarkable efforts and his significant contribution to the development of urology in Europe,” said Prof. Per-Anders Abrahamsson.

Prof. Louis Denis (Antwerp, BE) was granted the EAU Frans Debruyne Lifetime Achievement Award for his longstanding and important contribution to the activities and development of the EAU. The award was named after Prof. Frans Debruyne, who led the EAU’s development and spearheaded significant changes in the organization.

Named as the EAU’s Honorary Members were Robert Flanigan (Illinois, USA), Seiji Naito (Fukuoka, JP) and Joachim Thüroff (Mainz, DE) for their individual contributions and influence on European urology.

Bagging the highly-esteemed honour for young and mid-career urologists was Shahrokh Shariat (Vienna, AT) recipient of the EAU Crystal Matula Award. The award is granted to a promising young urologist under the age of 40 and aims to encourage innovative research studies.

Christopher Netsch (Hamburg, DE) rceived the EAU Hans Marberger Award 2014 for the best European paper published on Minimally Invasive Surgery (in Urology). Netsch was the lead author of the article “Complications and Early Postoperative Outcome in 1080 Patients After Thulium Vapoenucleation of the Prostate: Results at a Single Institution,” published last year in the journal European Urology.

Cited for “…inventions and clinical contributions which have had a major impact on influencing the treatment and/or diagnosis of a urological disease,” Richard Gaston (Bordeaux, FR) won the EAU Innovators in Urology Award 2014.

Zoran Culig (Innsbruck, AT) was granted the EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award as lead author of the article “Epithelial-to-Mesenchymal Transition Leads to Docetaxel Resistance in Prostate Cancer and Is Mediated by Reduced Expression of miR-200c and miR-205,” published in the American Journal of Pathology in 2012. The article was selected as the best paper published on clinical or experimental studies in prostate cancer.